Author Topic: Sandy's profesional studio. New pix again!!!!  (Read 4946 times)

Ceej

• Town Council
  • Sr. Resident
Sandy's profesional studio. New pix again!!!!
« on: June 14, 2014, 06:13:11 PM »
Hello:)

I'll be the first to admit that I'm a lazy photographer, camera set to auto, and flash, Point and shoot, but there have been instances where I needed to use ambient light (no flash) but I never got satisfactory results, been quite frustrating really.
Sometime last week I was in chat and mentioned this.....a few minutes later Gren showed me this on Amazon. Thanks Gren for showing me this set of lights, they work very well.

its only $49 US, $65 Canadian. it seemed too good to be true, I read through all the comments and there were some negative ones as well as positive ones....I decided to take the gamble and order the set.
It arrived a few days ago and I took some preliminary shots...its much better than just using ambient light, but I still have a lot to learn, positioning etc.

Here are a few shots comparing different lighting,

I did not set the camera's white balance for these shots though I will try that in the future, this is a shot with the studio lights no post colour balancing:

The same shot after adjusting the colours a bit with photoshop:

and the same shot using the studio lights with the camera's flash, no post colour adjustments:

And here's a long shot showing Sandy hard at work in our new studio:

you may notice that lights have a back reflector, I made these up using a cheap bowl from the dollar store. they do help direct more light through the umbrella and make a noticeable improvement.
They can be set up such the light reflects off the umbrella instead of shining through, but set up this way less light shines on the subject than letting the light shine through the umbrella.